Nano Group, University of Southampton

Nano Group

ECS nominated for University Electronics Department of the Year Award

ECS - Mountbatten and Zepler Buildings
ECS - Mountbatten and Zepler Buildings
Related Links:

ECS–Electronics and Computer Science at the University of Southampton has been nominated for the title of ‘University Department of the Year’ in the prestigious Elektra Awards of the European Electronics Industry.

The category of University Department of the Year is included in the Elektra Awards for the first time this year and, in addition to ECS, the other university departments nominated are at the University of Cambridge, Imperial College London, and the University of Bedfordshire.

The University Department of the Year Award is sponsored by RS Components and the winner will be announced at an award ceremony in London on Wednesday 14 December.

ECS was nominated for the Award on the basis of its long tradition of successful innovation in electronics, its commitment to innovation in education, its world-leading research across the breadth of the subject, from radio communications to nanotechnology, and for its close links to industry.

‘We are delighted to be nominated in these inaugural awards for the country’s leading university electronics department,’ said Professor Neil White, Head of ECS. ‘Southampton has been known as a centre of research in electronics for over 60 years and the innovation and creativity within ECS continues to make it a great place for enterprise to thrive.

‘With a strong portfolio of spin-out companies, key partnerships with major industries, a world-leading research base, and strong demand from industry for our graduates, we have the environment within which to ensure that our work has the broadest impact on society.’


For further information on this news story contact Joyce Lewis; tel.+44(0)23 8059 5453.

More Information.
Posted by Joyce K Lewis on 29 Sep 2011.